Seal Rock, Oregon

Seal Rock, Oregon

Canon Digital Rebel, kit lens, ISO: 100, aperture: f/5, shutter: 1/100 second.

The other day I found a $5 bill in an old pair of levis I hadn’t worn for awhile.  Finding something of value that I didn’t know I had was cause for celebration.  These photos are similiar in that way.  I was digging through some of my old photo archieves and stumbled across several nice captures, I had forgotten about, taken at Seal Rock in 2005.  There are lessons to be learned from this experience.  One,  put on those old pants that have been stashed in the closet, you may find a hidden treasure in one of the pockets.  Two, take some time to go through your old photos.  You just may find some great shots that have been forgotten about.

These photos follow my standard MO for sunsets at the beach.  I use the rule of thirds for composition and find some wet sand to reflect the colors and patterns of the clouds.  I know, I really should get beyond the basic composition mode and think more creatively, but this formula for landscapes is hard to beat.

I used the new Lightroom 4 beta version for processing.  The improvements made in the develop module alone will be worth the price of the upgrade.

Canon Digital Rebel, kit lens, ISO: 100, aperture: f/5.6, shutter: 1/50 second.

This entry was posted in Canon, Landscapes, Photography, Sunsets and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

